celebrating: hummingbird cake with coconut frosting

_MG_5050

_MG_5052

Last week was one heck of a ride; packed full of celebrations, nervousness and achievements. Thursday was results day for AS and A2 students, meaning I was just one amongst the masses of highly strung students apprehensively awaiting the opening of those little fate-containing envelopes.

_MG_5065

I’m proud to say I opened mine to be greeted with A grades in all four of my subjects! 4 As, eek! Yes, there were tears. Mostly from my mum. And those awkward but jovial hugs with my over-the-moon teachers. And that awkward conversation with the drama teacher who thinks I’m continuing her subject coming September (oops)…

_MG_5076

_MG_5078

To say I’m happy would be an understatement. I’m very proud and also ridiculously thrilled for my lovely, talented friends who have all done so, so brilliantly. Obviously, celebrations are in order.

_MG_5092

Champagne has been consumed, we had a family celebratory dinner out and today I made this hummingbird cake. A delightfully soft, light crumb studded with pineapple chunks and lightly flavoured with banana and sweet cinnamon. Bedaubed with whipped coconut cream frosting – this cake truly is a winner. It doesn’t hurt that it’s awfully pretty, either (sorry for the photo overload).

In other news: I bought myself a waffle maker (2am impulse Amazon purchases are the bane of my night-owl existence) so brunch tomorrow is going to be FUN, I am drowning in bananas, my obsession with CoYo coconut yoghurt is becoming an expensive problem and I just finished binge-watching Gossip Girl on Netflix. Now I’m sad (and have lots of free time…).

Recipe after the jump!

_MG_5098

_MG_5179

_MG_5101

_MG_5198

VEGAN HUMMINGBIRD CAKE WITH WHIPPED COCONUT CREAM FROSTING

  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 100g coconut palm sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 150g oat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • A pinch salt
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 240g pineapple chunks
  • 300g thick coconut yoghurt (CoYo is my favourite brand)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • Toasted coconut, to serve
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C. Line an 8″ springform cake pan with greaseproof paper and set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl combine the olive oil, coconut palm sugar and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl combine the oat flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  3. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet, then mix in the mashed banana and pineapple chunks.
  4. Pour half of the cake batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 20 minutes, or until a cocktail stick inserted comes out clean. Let cool briefly, then run a knife around the edges and remove cake from the pan.
  5. Repeat step 4 with the other half of the cake batter, leaving you with 2 separate layers.
  1. To make the coconut yoghurt frosting, use an electric whisk to whip together the coconut yoghurt, coconut oil and maple syrup.
  2. Put the first cake layer on a cake stand and spread a thin layer of the frosting on top. Place the second cake layer carefully on top.
  3. Spread the rest of the frosting on the top and sides of the cake. Press toasted coconut chips into the frosting and serve!

output_2AAnoN

2 thoughts on “celebrating: hummingbird cake with coconut frosting

Leave a Reply

