silken tofu coffee mousse

output_xTOBHj

Angel Delight conjures fond childhood memories for me. Fluffy, sweet, creamy and delicious. When I was younger, my aunt introduced me to butterscotch angel delight, much to the disgust of my mum who wasn’t too keen on the pre-packaged instant dessert. I had a very sweet tooth as a child. So sweet, in fact, that I proceeded to eat 3 bowls of the beige gloop in one sitting and licked the dish clean too. Now I’m (a little more) grown up and my tastebuds are slightly more refined, I find myself twisting my face in disgust at the thought – yes, I’m a health food snob – and craving something a little less sweet and better for me.

_MG_4833

_MG_4834

There’s been a packet of silken tofu sitting in my fridge waiting to be transformed into a rice noodle vegetable soup for dinner for about a week. Truth is, all I’ve been craving lately is caffeinated things in dessert form. Pudding form. Mousse, to be exact. Mousse like…angel delight.

_MG_4874

This silken tofu coffee mousse has the more-ish texture of the angel delight I adored as a little girl but tastes even better: rich, decadent and a perfect after dinner treat.

output_mus6Dd

Paired with whipped coconut cream, cacao nibs and crushed hazelnuts; it’s my idea of dessert perfection. Now, coffee extract does contain caffeine (sob) so if you’re easily affected by caffeine this is probably best consumed earlier in the day. Perhaps for lunch, or even breakfast (I won’t judge, I eat cake for breakfast on a regular basis).

_MG_4881

_MG_4879

SILKEN TOFU COFFEE MOUSSE

  • 350g silken tofu
  • 1 tbsp good-quality coffee extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp agave nectar or maple syrup
  1. In a food processor or blender, pulse all ingredients together until completely smooth.
  2. Spoon into 4 ramekins or pudding pots and refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.
  3. To serve, top with crushed hazelnuts, whipped coconut cream and cacao nibs.

output_EYPvTv

2 thoughts on “silken tofu coffee mousse

Leave a Reply

