baked matchstick potatoes, avocado mayonnaise + spicy baba ganoush

Friday was the last day of my 2-week internship at We Can Creative. There was cake, lots of coffee and endless creativity. Ideal, really. I’ve had a blast with Denise and Graham who have been great fun, extremely generous and taught me lots of new skills; I’m really sad to see the end of my placement and go back to school to start Year 13 work (final year!) tomorrow. Bleh.

Despite going back to school, with no exams in the near future to be revising for (minus my drama and music exams…), the next 5 or so weeks before summer are actually looking pretty fantastic. I’ve got a couple of BA taster courses in art, design and journalism at London universities to look forward to, I can’t wait to see my friends a lot more (I actually do have a social life, believe it or not) and I’ll have more time for blogging, photography and art projects. There are also some exciting prospects on the horizon in terms of photography for some incredible companies who I admire greatly – of which I won’t reveal just yet, but I’m very eager to begin.

_MG_2776

One of my recent amazon splurges was a julienne peeler. I’ve wanted to make courgetti (noodles/spaghetti made entirely from courgettes aka YUMMINESS) for a while now but purchasing a massive spiralizer seemed so pointless. When I found out courgetti could be made just as easily with a julienne peeler I bought one straight away. You can use it for so many things! Shredding carrots for coleslaw and salads, making veggie noodles, and these. Wonderfully crispy, crunchy baked matchstick potato ‘fries’ dipped in beautifully creamy avocado mayonnaise. Or a deliciously smoky baba ganoush. Your choice. The epitome of good-for-you comfort food. Uhhhh, yum.

_MG_2775

BAKED MATCHSTICK POTATOES

  • 2 medium potatoes
  • Sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 C.
  2. Using a julienne peeler or mandolin, slice the potatoes into thin ‘matchstick’ strips. Alternatively, use a standard peeler and a knife. Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown, crisp and crunchy.

_MG_2772

AVOCADO MAYONNAISE

  • 1 ripe avocado, halved, pitted, scooped out of skin
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Juice of 1 fresh lemon
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  1.  In a food processor or blender, puree all the ingredients until smooth. Keeps in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

_MG_2763

SPICY BABA GANOUSH

  • 1 large aubergine
  • 1 crushed clove garlic
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp Sriracha sauce
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  1. Pierce the skin of the aubergine with a fork then grill over the flame of a gas hob until the skin chars.
  2. Scrape out the flesh and whisk with the garlic, Sriracha, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Keeps in an airtight container for up to 1 week in the fridge.

_MG_2777


Leave a comment