sage roasted butternut & spring onion soup

bsquash

I thought I’d make an appearance here before my AS level exams begin (ON THURSDAY – HELP) as you probably won’t be seeing much of me until May the 20th. If you’d like to keep up with Emily antics on a daily basis you can follow my adventures over on Instagram – where I’m doing my 365 project! For now, though, let’s talk about soup.

yihkufyjyfjk

The best kind of recipes are the simple ones. Roast, blend, serve. Simple, fast, delicious. This soup is just that – with sweet roasted onions and butternut squash delicately balanced with the aromatic herb sage. Perfect for an easy dinner and just right for a revision dilatory tactic.

Shh.

roasted2

SAGE ROASTED BUTTERNUT & SPRING ONION SOUP (serves 4)

  • 1 large butternut squash
  • 350g red tropea spring onions (or another large-bulb spring onion variety)
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dried sage
  • 1 vegetable stock cube (optional)
  • Water, to thin as desired
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C.
  2. Prepare the butternut squash by cutting into chunks, and the spring onions by removing the green tops and the roots at the bottom.
  3. Toss the squash and onions with olive oil and sage, then put in the oven to roast for 40 minutes.
  4. When roasted, use a blender, food processor or hand-immersion blender to puree, then empty into a saucepan with a vegetable stock cube (if using) and thin down with water. Keep warm on a low heat or chill until serving.

IMG_5563

My parents and I ate this soup for dinner tonight, accompanied by slices of the life-changing loaf of bread by My New Roots. I strayed from the original recipe and used a mix of seeds and nuts that I had to hand; also adding some chilli flakes for a little kick. The bread is moist, chewy, dense and outrageously good for you.

Well – next time I see you all again I may well be an exams free girl with a bunch of recipes up my sleeve.

Unless I procrastinate again,

Of course.

bread

Leave a Reply

