breakfast business + a dutch baby recipe

This morning I made breakfast for a couple of friends and the affair got me thinking about this forsaken post, which has been sitting tucked away in my drafts folder for a few months now. Hazelnut infused lattes and buttery dutch babies congested the dining room table.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Each slice of puffed pancake was unique, on account of personal preferences. Think almond butter, banana and golden syrup. Or my creation – pumpkin seeds, almond flakes, dried cranberries, agave and frozen blackberries. Cannot get enough of that cold/hot combo.

When I first purchased my cast iron skillet there were two recipes pervading my culinary-crowded head space. French toast and dutch baby pancakes. The inchoation of my dutch baby love affair was delayed; school work and theatre productions began to prevail my existence and my beloved skillet became no more than a utensil to make a quick shakshuka or to toast my cheddar crammed lunchtime sandwiches.

I am yet to tackle french toast but the dutch baby has now been tried, tested & devoured many times. My first attempt was a wary step into unknown territories – I didn’t follow a recipe to the letter because I’m temerarious like that. Audacious behaviours aside – my initial dutch baby experience was magnificent.

Whether you make this for a decadent breakfast, brunch, lunch or dessert, always ensure to dredge liberally with an extravagant snow-storm of icing sugar – your taste buds will treasure you for it.

WHOLEGRAIN SPELT DUTCH BABY with YOGHURT & RASPBERRIES (serves 2 (but I eat the whole thing myself because life’s too short) in a 8″ cast iron skillet)

  • 35g wholegrain spelt flour
  • 1 egg
  • 60g almond milk
  • 15g agave nectar (or maple syrup)
  • 5g butter
  • Dollop of yoghurt
  • Handful raspberries (I warm mine in the microwave for all the yummy juices)
  • Icing sugar to dust
  1. Place your skillet in the oven, then turn the oven on to 200C.
  2. Place the flour, agave and egg in a bowl and whisk until combined.
  3. Add the milk, whisking until smooth. Then transfer to a jug for easy pouring.
  4. When the oven has come up to temperature, quickly add the butter to the skillet in the oven and close the door. Wait one or two minutes until the butter has melted then swiftly open the door, pour the mixture into the skillet in the oven and close the door.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes until puffed up and golden brown.
  6. Immediately top with a dollop of yoghurt and raspberries. Dust with icing sugar, then serve.
2 thoughts on “breakfast business + a dutch baby recipe

  1. That’s brilliant…I find it hard to believe that it actually works and harder to believe that I’ve never tried it. I’m sure it would work with the exotic elements such as agave, spelt flour and almond….I’ll let you know:)

Leave a Reply

